Your Dollars at Work - Education Year in Review

May 19, 2016

2015 Education Programs Highlights 

Learn more about the accomplishments of the Hand Foundation and how your dollars were put to work last year.  View the 2015 AFSH Annual Report.

Teaching Hands Education Fund

The “Teaching Hands” education fund was designed to support educational initiatives serving ASSH members, residents, and fellows.  This fund will help finance new projects as well as expand on existing educational programs.  

2015 Innovation in Education Grant Winners
In 2015, the AFSH launched the Innovation in Education Grant program to seed-fund new learning tools.

Kyle C. Bohm, MD – Utilization of a Smart Phone Application for Tracking Hand Surgery Milestones
Chris Anthony, MD – A Technology Platform for Surgical Video Coaching in Orthopaedic Training

Annual Meeting Traveling Scholarship Program

The Annual Meeting Traveling Scholarship Program offers a $1,500 scholarship to residents, fellows and active duty military to attend the Adrian E. Flatt Residents and Fellows Conference and the ASSH Annual Meeting.  This program is supported by generous contributions made by industry, hand clubs, and individuals.  Since 2008, the AFSH has awarded 408 scholarships totaling $612,000 in travel support.  In 2014 we were able to fund 100% of all qualified applicants.  Demand has outpaced donations.  In 2015 we were only able to fund 88 of 128 requested scholarships.   As part of the Annual Meeting Traveling Scholarship program, two new named awards have been established.  The Daniel C. Riordan Award, established in 2014, recognizes a worthy resident or fellow that wishes to pursue a career in hand surgery.  The Vincent R. Hentz Scholarship, to begin in 2016, will cover one plastics-focused surgical resident or hand fellow scholarship.

2015 Riordan Award winners:
Stephanie Thibaudeau, MD
Samir K. Trehan, MD
Brian C. Drolet, MD

Help us support the future leaders in hand surgery by directing your donation to the Scholarship Fund.

A. Lee Osterman Excellence in Education Award
This award recognizes an ASSH Member who has demonstrated excellence in teaching.  In 2015, Peter Stern, MD was selected at the winner and will present the Osterman Instructional Course at the 2016 Annual Meeting in Austin.