Your Dollars at Work - Research Year in Review

May 13, 2016

Learn more about the accomplishments of the Hand Foundation and how your dollars were put to work last year.  View the 2015 AFSH Annual Report.

Research Year in Review 

Did you know, in 2015 alone, the AFSH awarded $461,00 for clinical and basic science research grants and awards.  Under the ASSH Research Division Director, Kevin C. Chung, MD, MS, we continue to strengthen and expand our research program.  As stewards of your research gifts, the AFSH provides significant return on investment by seed funding high quality grants that often lead to larger research projects.  The Research Division has a year-round review of grants from various mechanisms, including the fast track grant for the residents and fellows, basic/clinical grants, multi-center clinical grants, and Weiland Medal award for outstanding research contribution to the field of hand surgery.  Countless hours are spent by a cadre of seasoned researchers who expend their volunteer time to review the grants to assure that the money allocated by the AFSH is used prudently for impactful grants that can help your practice.  Make a donation to support the Research Fund today!

2015 Research Grants & Awards

Basic Science & Clinical Research Grants
These grants function similarly to the NIH Exploratory/Developmental Research Grant Program (R21).  The R21 grant mechanism is intended to encourage exploratory/developmental research by providing support for the early and conceptual stages of project development.  In 2015 we awarded eight one-year Basic Science grants and two two-year Clinical Research Grants.  View Basic Science and Clinical Research grant recipients.

J. Leonard Goldner Pioneer Award for top research grant
Neural Scar Inhibition with Engineered Collagen Blocking Antibody (Rabbit Model)
Michael Rivlin, MD

Resident/Fellow Fast Track Grants
This research grant opportunity is designed specifically for residents and fellows, offering a small amount of funding to seed innovative projects related to hand surgery. The scope of the project is smaller, and the time to funding is faster than the traditional grants program.  In 2015, excess funds from the AFSH board designated Weiland Fund were used to award eight “Weiland” Fast Track Grants.  Additionally, excess funds from the Bruner Endowment were used to recognize the top Fast Track grant recipient with a special Bruner Award.  View recipient list.

Julian M. Bruner Award for top fast track research grant
Capsular Release Versus Humeral Osteotomy:  Effect On Shoulder Function
Stephanie A Russo, MD, PhD

Hand Surgeon-Scientist Award
This five-year $187,500 award recognizes a young hand surgeon who has received a K08 or K23 award by the NIH.  Year 1/5 began in 2013 for John Elfar, MD for his project on “Erythropoietin for Neuroregeneration.”

AFSH/ACS Joint Research Career Development Award
This five-year $400,000 award is jointly sponsored with the American College of Surgeons (ACS) to fund a research career development award for surgeons specializing in hand surgery who have already received a K08 or K23 award.  Jennifer F. Waljee, MD, MPH was announced the winner in 2015 for her project on “Patient Reported Outcomes and Quality Assessment in Surgery.”

Andrew J. Weiland Medal Award for Outstanding Research in Hand Surgery
Extremity Reconstructive Microsurgery from Replantation to Transplantation
L. Scott Levin, MD

Richard H. Gelberman Scholar Award
This award is used to defray all or part of the cost of a young hand surgeon’s visit to a national or international center of excellence in order to learn necessary operative or research techniques that will be utilized early in the surgeon’s academic practice of hand, upper extremity, or microsurgery.  Daniel Osei, MD, MSc was announced the 2015 Gelberman Scholar and will give a report of his travel at the 2016 ASSH Annual Meeting.

Ronald Linscheid & James Dobyns Award
Awarded to the best wrist research paper presentation at the Annual Meeting.  The 2015 winning paper was “The Role of the Dorsal Wrist Capsuloligamentous Structures on Volar Radiocarpal Instability After Distal Radius Fractures With Volar Lunate Facet Fragments” by Thay Q. Lee, PhD.  Dr. Lee will present an Instructional Course on “How Normal Life Activities Affect Wrist Motion: A New Understanding” at the 2016 ASSH Annual Meeting.

Julian M. Bruner Award for best scientific display at the Annual Meeting
The Effect of Capitate Position on Coronal-Plane Motion following Four-Corner Fusion
Alexia Hernandez-Soria, MD

Congratulations to all of our 2015 research grant and award winners!