and Hand-e
Annual Meeting Scholarships

Through the generosity of the American Foundation for Surgery of the Hand, and through its donors including individuals, hand clubs, and our corporate partners, the AFSH is proud to offer Annual Meeting Traveling Scholarships to Residents*, Fellows* and active duty military surgeons^. 

Applicants will have the opportunity to receive a scholarship to support travel-related expenses to attend the 34th Annual Adrian E. Flatt Residents and Fellows Conference in Hand Surgery (September 28, 2016) as well as the 71st Annual Meeting of the ASSH (September 29-October 1, 2016). This scholarship is designed to help cover travel expenses as well as meeting registration fees.   All scholarship recipients are required to attend the scientific sessions and cannot participate in social tours/events when CME programming is taking place.

How to Apply

Information about the 2016 application process and deadlines will be posted in early 2016.  You are required to submit the following:

  • Your contact information 
  • A brief personal statement addressing your current interest in hand surgery, goals/desires of attending the meeting, plan of incorporating knowledge gained and future interest in hand surgery
  • A letter of endorsement/support and verification of your eligibility for these scholarships from your Program Director, Department Head, Directorate of Surgery, Executive or Commanding Officer indicating you will be allowed to attend the entire annual meeting (September 29 - October 1).

Contact information (including NPI number) of all scholarship recipients will be shared with corporate supporters after the Annual Meeting.

*Note for Residents and Fellows: Scholarships are intended for North American Resident and Fellow applicants only

^Note for military applicants: The application is open to orthopedic hand and upper extremity surgeons, plastic surgeons, general surgeons, and other specialty-trained physicians who believe this experience would benefit them, their patients, and military medicine. You must be on active duty at the time of application and for the duration of the ASSH Annual Meeting.

Daniel C. Riordan Award

The American Foundation for Surgery of the Hand is honored to partner with the Riordan Hand Society to administer the Daniel C. Riordan Fund in support of the AFSH 25th Anniversary Campaign. This expendable fund will help supplement the Annual Meeting Traveling Scholarship program by funding (1) resident or fellow or scholarship each year, in honor of Dr. Riordan.

Daniel C. Riordan, MD
October 3, 1917 – October 27 - 2012
President, American Society for Surgery of the Hand (1960-1961) 

A preeminent surgeon,
 A true gentleman,
A wise mentor,
and a good person.
From a humble beginning,
he achieved greatness and inspired others to do the same. 

Dr. Riordan was an outstanding clinician, teacher, and role model. He was respected worldwide for his expertise in congenital, arthritic, degenerative, and neurological conditions of the hand. The Daniel C. Riordan award will recognize a talented resident or fellow who has a sincere interest in teaching and patient care. The award recipient will be recognized by the Riordan Hand Society and will receive a $1,500 scholarship to cover travel, housing, and registration to attend the Adrian E. Flatt Residents and Fellows Conference and the ASSH Annual Meeting.  

To apply, please complete the general Annual Meeting Scholarship application and check "yes" when asked if you would like to be considered for the Riordan Award.  You are encouraged to submit a Letter of Recommendation to Becca Daly ( for consideration by the Residents and Fellows Conference Committee. 

Interested in making a donation in support of the Riordan Fund?  Contact the AFSH at or visit the online AFSH donation page

2013 Scholarship Recipients

We are grateful for the 2015 Scholarship Support from:

Arthrex, Inc.
AxoGen, Inc.
Stryker Trauma & Extremities
Brown University Hand Club
Carroll Hand Club 
Adrian E. Flatt Endowment
Indiana Hand Society
Riordan Hand Society 

Individual Donors:

James Chang, MD
Glenn D. Cohen, MD
Stephen C. Drukker, MD
Gloria R. Gogola, MD
Donald H. Lalonde, MD
Gregory K. May, MD
Julie A. Melchior, MD
Adelbert J. Mencias, MD
Keith D. Morrison, MD
James M. Saucedo, MD, MBA
William H. Seitz, Jr., MD
Yasuhiro Ueda, MD
Angela A. Wang, MD
Jan P. Zegarra, MD FACS

Donate Today!


  • 822 W. Washington Blvd, Chicago, Il 60607
  • Phone: (312) 880-1900
  • Fax: (847) 384-1435
  • Email:
© 2016 American Society for Surgery of the Hand