and Hand-e
34th Annual Adrian E. Flatt Residents & Fellows Conference in Hand Surgery

Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Time: 6:15 AM – 4:45 PM
Austin Convention Center

Chair: Jerry I. Huang, MD
Vice-Chairs: Julie E. Adams, MD and Fraser J. Leversedge, MD

Sponsored by the American Foundation for Surgery of the Hand. Apply for a scholarship to attend the Residents and Fellows Conference as well as the ASSH Annual Meeting.


The Adrian E. Flatt Residents and Fellows Conference in Hand Surgery is specifically geared toward hand surgery fellows and residents in orthopaedic, plastic and general surgery.  The day includes lively debates by our faculty about areas of controversy within hand surgery,  information pertaining to the types of clinical practices ranging from academic to private practice, a quiz for residents and fellows and a scientific program where residents and fellows can present their research. Participants are invited to submit and present their papers on subjects within the specialty of hand and upper extremity surgery.  Filled with dialogue and information exchange, this conference is a valuable resource for all attendees.

Learning Objectives

  • Discuss and critique presentations of clinical advances and research findings in hand and upper extremity surgery.
  • Use the information presented in this educational forum to advance office practice and the treatment of patients.


The ASSH designates this live activity for a maximum of 8.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™.  Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity. Of the 8.25 credits, 0.25 have been identified as applicable to Patient Safety.


Fellow or Resident

ASSH Member

ASSH Retired or Lifetime Member

Non-Member Physician

Allied Health

International ASSH Member

International Non-member


6:15 – 7:00 AM

7:00 – 7:05 AM
Jerry I. Huang, MD

7:05 – 7:15 AM
Introductory Remarks
Neil F. Jones, MD, President, American Society for Surgery of the Hand

7:15 – 7:45 AM
Paper Session I: Top Papers 5 papers, 5 min each, 1 min discussion
Moderators: Philip E. Blazar, MD and Adam J. Mirarchi, MD

7:50 – 8:15 AM
Paper Session II: Bone (Bell Rounds) 6 papers, 2 min each, 1 min discussion, 5 min talk: Complications of Distal Radius Fractures
Speaker: Sonya P. Agnew, MD
Moderators:  Sonya P. Agnew, MD and Marc A. Trzeciak, MD

8:20 – 8:40 AM
Paper Session III: Nerve (Bell Rounds) 5 papers, 2 min each, 1 min discussion, 5 min talk: Principles in Nerve Reconstruction
Speaker: Peter Tang, MD
Moderators: Peter Tang, MD and David R. Steinberg, MD

8:45 – 9:25 AM
Panel Discussion: Complex Trauma Cases: Working Together (Ortho-Plastic Sx)   
Speakers: Peter C. Rhee, MD; Matthew L. Iorio, MD and Deana Mercer, MD
Moderator: Jerry I. Huang, MD   

9:25 – 9:40 AM  
Coffee Break
9:40 – 10:00 AM
Paper Session IV: Tendon (Bell Rounds) 4 papers, 2 min each, 1 min discussion, 5 min talk: Challenges in Flexor Tendon Repair
Speaker: Fraser J. Leversedge, MD
Moderators: Fraser J. Leversedge, MD and Daniel A. Osei, MD

10:05 – 10:25 AM
Paper Session V: Congenital/Misc. (Bell Rounds) 5 papers, 2 min each, 1 min discussion, 5 min talk: Hypoplastic Thumb
Speaker: Robert E. Carrigan, MD
Moderators: Robert E. Carrigan, MD and Andrea B. Bauer, MD

10:30 – 10:45 AM
Ethics and Professionalism Committee  
Philip E. Blazar, MD

10:45 – 11:00 AM
Evidence Based Medicine Committee 
Noah M. Raizman, MD

11:05 AM – 11:50 PM
The Richard Smith Lecture 
Hill Hastings, MD

12:00 – 12:50 PM
Lunch with the Past Presidents/ ASSH Giants 

12:50 – 1:20 PM
Debate: Nerve Transfer vs. Tendon Transfer 
10 minute presentations followed by Cases: What would you do? (10 minutes)
Nerve Transfer: Jason H. Ko, MD
Tendon Transfer: John V. Ingari, MD

1:25 – 1:45 PM
Art and Science of Hand Therapy
Carol Recor, OTR/L, CHT

1:45 – 2:05 PM
Innovations and Product Development: Labor of Love
Jeff Yao, MD

2:05 – 2:20 PM
Risk Management/Surgical Safety
Julie E. Adams, MD

2:20 – 2:50 PM
Panel Discussion: Choosing the Best Practice Model for Me: My Own Journey
Private Practice:  Walter B. McClelland, Jr., MD (8 minutes)
Private Practice to Academics: Ronald M. Gonzalez, MD (8 minutes)
Academics to Private Practice: Peter Kim, MD (8 minutes)
Audience Questions (6 minutes) 

2:50 – 3:30 PM
International Experiences
Touching Hands: Fraser J. Leversedge, MD (10 minutes)
International Training Experiences: 
Jacques H. Hacquebord, MD- China (7 minutes)

James M. Saucedo, MD, MBA- Spain (7 minutes)
Stephen Refsland, MD- New Zealand (7 minutes)
Audience Questions (8 minutes)

3:30 – 3:45 PM
Coffee Break

3:45 – 4:30 PM
Breakout Sessions I and II   
Noah M. Raizman, MD and Andrea B. Bauer, MD
Session I: Academic Practice (contracts, grants, working with trainees)
Session II: Private Practice (contracts, investments, employment model)

4:30 – 4:40 PM
Joseph Boyes Award Announcement for Top Resident/Fellow Paper

4:45 PM
Seth D. Dodds, MD

Reception will follow.

  • 822 W. Washington Blvd, Chicago, Il 60607
  • Phone: (312) 880-1900
  • Fax: (847) 384-1435
  • Email:
© 2016 American Society for Surgery of the Hand