Richard H. Gelberman Scholar Award

This monetary award is for a young hand surgeon during his or her first four years of practice who has demonstrated strong potential for excellence in patient care, research and education. This award is intended to be a career stimulus, and to propel a young surgeon to greater achievement in the field of hand surgery on both a national and international stage.

The award would be used to support national or international travel of the award recipient, with the stated goal of benefiting both the membership of the American Society for Surgery of the Hand and the patients we serve. The recipient will learn necessary operative or research techniques that will be utilized early in his/her academic practice of hand, upper extremity, or microsurgery.  


    • Must have completed an accredited fellowship within the past four years.
    • The applicant must have begun his or her surgical practice in a center where either residents or fellows are taught.
    • Must be an ASSH Candidate Member.


Applications for the 2019-2020 Richard H. Gelberman Scholar Award are due May 13, 2019.

To apply, please complete the online application and be prepared to include the following:

    • Your entire hand surgical fellowship application including basic information, board scores, and letters of recommendation. Additional letters of recommendation from other members of the American Society for Surgery of the Hand are permissible.
    • Short description of your accredited fellowship.
    • Brief summary of what you hope to learn during your travels.
    • Recent headshot.

Apply Here


The winner of the Richard H. Gelberman Scholar Award will be chosen by the Gelberman Scholar Committee.  The method of scoring will be determined by the Committee Chair.  The winner will be notified shortly before the Annual Meeting.

Award Money

The award of $15,000 will be disbursed within a month of the ASSH Annual Meeting. 


The Gelberman Scholar should take his or her trip within one year of receiving the award and is responsible for arranging all details for the trip.


The award recipient will be announced at the ASSH Annual Meeting. After the scholar has traveled, he or she will submit a one-page report summarizing where he or she had traveled, what was learned, and how the information learned was put to use in the surgeon’s academic practice.  The scholar will present a brief talk at the following ASSH Annual Meeting describing his/her experience during the scholarship.


Please contact Anne at [email protected].


2018 - Harvey W. Chim, MD
2017 - Duretti T. Fufa, MD
2016 - Scott M. Tintle, MD
2015 - Daniel Osei, MD, MSc 
2014 - Jennifer F. Waljee, MD, MPH, MSC