The J. Leonard Goldner Pioneer Research Award is given annually to honor ASSH past president educator and pioneering hand surgeon J. Leonard Goldner MD.

The Research Grant Committee bestows this award upon the highest ranking research grant application submitted during a given calendar year.  The recipient is selected through the already established mechanism of the grant review process; no special application is needed.  Research must be highly innovative and far-reaching in its appeal to the ASSH membership. The Goldner Pioneer Award is modeled after the highly competitive National Institutes of Health (NIH) Director’s Pioneer Award.  

The Goldner Pioneer Award is announced at the ASSH Annual Meeting each year.  The principal investigator is given a special plaque to commemorate his/her achievement and a monetary award.

New! Beginning in 2016 the AFSH will announce two Goldner Awards one for the top Basic Science grant and another for the top Clinical Research grant.  

Past Goldner Award Recipients

2015 - Michael Rivlin MD Rothman Institute
Neural scar inhibition with engineered collagen blocking antibody (Rabbit model) - Pilot Study

2014 (tie) - Alayna Loiselle PhD – University of Rochester
Inhibition of the prostanoid receptor EP4 to enhance flexor tendon healing

2014 (tie) - Ian Sando MD – University of Michigan
Validating a Dermal-Based Sensory Peripheral Nerve Interface

2013 - Roger Cornwall MD - Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
Afferent denervation and contractures following neonatal brachial plexus injury
2012 - Yasuhiro Ozasa MD - Mayo Clinic
A Comparative Study of the Effects of GDF-5 on MDSCs and BMSCs in Tendon
2011 - Erika Sears MD and Lee Squitieri MS - University of Michigan
Measuring Quality of Life in Neonatal Brachial Plexus Palsy: A Qualitative and Quantitative Study

2010 - Zhongyu J. Li MD PhD - Wake Forest University
The Role of Aging in Macrophage Recruitment and Activation Following Nerve Injury