Bunnell Fellowship Program

The purpose of the Bunnell Traveling Fellowship, in honor of ASSH founder Sterling Bunnell, MD, is to provide scholarship funding for a young Hand Surgeon to pursue an educational or academic goal that requires national and international collaboration, and which fosters the principles of scholarship of the American Society for Surgery of the Hand. It is anticipated that the Bunnell Fellow, his/her hosts, and the respective Hand Societies will mutually benefit from the stimulation of collaborative research directions, expansion of academic opportunities, and the development of lifelong relationships with our national and international colleagues. Funding for the Fellowship is provided by the American Foundation for Surgery of the Hand. 


Applications for the 2019-2020 Bunnell Fellowship are due on May 13, 2019.

Requirements for this program include:

  • The applicant must have completed a fellowship in hand surgery.
  • The hand surgery fellowship (or residency if taken after fellowship) must have been completed between June 30, 2009 and the present.
  • Applicants must be Active Members of the American Society for Surgery of the Hand and must apply within seven years following election to ASSH Active Membership. 2019 applicants must have joined ASSH in 2011 or later.

Apply Here

Please be prepared to include the following items in your online application:

  • Recent headshot
  • One-page description of your fellowship theme
  • Budget / timeline
  • Two sponsor letters

For any questions, contact Anne Pappas ([email protected])

Application Details

The Bunnell Committee expects applicants to develop a fellowship theme that clearly delineates a specific area of clinical interest, a scientific pursuit, or an educational mission that the applicant would like to investigate during the Fellowship. The itinerary should be purposely designed to include those individuals in national or international centers who would best fulfill the applicant’s Fellowship theme. The Bunnell Fellow will be expected to present a scientific report of his/her Fellowship theme in the context of the Fellowship travels at the Annual Meeting of the ASSH.

Application for the Fellowship should include a detailed, one page description of the scientific theme to be pursued during the Bunnell Fellowship. The statement should specifically describe the planned objectives of your Fellowship, and the persons or institutions that you plan to visit to fulfill your Fellowship goals. It is important to complete and submit a budget and timeline, as funding for the Fellowship is limited to $15,000.00. Bunnell Fellows are strongly encouraged to stay within the budgetary guidelines.


A committee of former Bunnell fellows selects the new fellow based on the applicant's scholarship, ASSH contributions, and the strength of the proposed collaborative project. The new Bunnell fellow is notified shortly before the Annual meeting.

Award Funds

Funds in the amount of $15,000 will be disbursed to the Bunnell Fellow following the ASSH Annual Meeting.


Recipients of the Bunnell Fellowship

2018 - Jennifer F. Waljee, MD
2017 - Sanjeev Kakar, MD, FAOA
2016 - Ryan P. Calfee, MD, MSc
2015 - Jeffrey Yao, MD
2014 - Tamara D. Rozental, MD
2013 - James P. Higgins, MD
2012 - Marco Rizzo, MD
2011 - Charles Day, MD
2010 - Jennifer M. Wolf, MD
2009 - Charles A. Goldfarb, MD
2008 - Steven L. Moran, MD 
2007 - Ranjan Gupta, MD 
2006 - James Chang, MD 
2005 - Martin I. Boyer, MD  
2004 - Alexander Y. Shin, MD  
2003 - Kevin C. Chung, MD 
2002 - W.P. Andrew Lee, MD
2001 - Scott H. Kozin, MD 
2000 - Amy L. Ladd, MD 
1999 - L. Scott Levin, MD
1998 - Arnold-Peter C. Weiss, MD 
1997 - Scott W. Wolfe, MD 
1996 - Richard T. Berger, MD
1995 - Allen T. Bishop, MD
1994 - Jaiyoung Ryu, MD
1993 - Robert M. Szabo, MD
1992 - William H. Seitz, Jr., MD
1991 - Vincent D. Pellegrini, Jr., MD
1990 - Thomas M. Brushart, MD
1989 - Hill Hastings, II, MD
1988 - William F. Blair, MD
1987 - Lawrence C. Hurst, MD
1986 - Michael B. Wood, MD
1985 - William B. Kleinman, MD
1984 - Andrew K. Palmer, MD
1983 - James W. May, Jr., MD 
1982 - William P. Cooney, MD 
1981 - William H. Bowers, MD