Print Friendly Print Email this page Email | 

 Andrew J. Weiland Medal

The American Society for Surgery of the Hand (ASSH) is pleased to honor the work of hand surgeon and researcher, Dr. Andrew Weiland, with the Andrew J. Weiland Medal for Outstanding Research in Hand Surgery.  The medal is awarded annually to a mid-career researcher dedicated to advancing patient care in the field of hand surgery.

The award is a $20,000 unrestricted gift honoring a hand surgeon-scientist who has contributed a body of research that advances the field.  The medal recognizes and supports outstanding research in hand surgery in order to continue Weiland’s vision for the field of hand surgery.  It is awarded to a mid-career surgeon who is less than 60 years old or a surgeon who is less than 20 years from hand fellowship training.  The medal is presented at the ASSH Annual Meeting each year and the winner gives a keynote address.

Nominations and/or applications are now being accepted.  Applicants must submit a curriculum vitae and a review manuscript describing the body of research, in the Journal of Hand Surgery format, that may eventually be published if selected. The manuscript must be under 3,000 words.  

Applications are due April 7, 2014, and can be submitted in Word format to Sarah Meyer Hughes at  For more information on applying for the award, please contact the ASSH Central Office at (312) 880-1900.

Andrew J. Weiland, MD is a past President of the American Society for Surgery of the Hand (1995) and has served in an academic capacity his entire career.  The first half of his career was at Johns Hopkins University where he was Chief of Hand Surgery.  His current appointments include:  Attending Orthopedic Surgeon, Hospital for Special Surgery; Professor of Orthopedic Surgery, Weill Medical College of Cornell University; and Professor of Surgery (Plastic Surgery), Weill Medical College of Cornell University.

Past Weiland Medal Recipients

2013 - Alexander Shin, MD - Mayo Clinic

"Peripheral Nerve Injuries:  Advancing the Field through Research, Collaboration and Education"

2012 - Kevin A. Hildebrand, MD, FRCSC - University of Calgary

"Post-Traumatic Elbow Joint Contractures: Defining Pathologic Capsular Mechanisms and Potential Future Treatment Paradigms"

2011 - James Chang, MD - Stanford University

"Studies in Flexor Tendon Reconstruction: Biomolecular Modulation of Tendon Repair and Tissue Engineering"

2010 - Scott H. Kozin, MD - Shriner's Hospital for Children

"The Evaluation and Treatment of Children with Brachial Plexus Birth Palsy"

2009 - Kevin C. Chung, MD - University of Michigan

"Outcomes and Evidence-Based Research in Hand Surgery"