Print Friendly Print Email this page Email | 

 Goldner Pioneer Award

The J. Leonard Goldner Pioneer Research Award is given annually to honor the memory of former ASSH president, educator and pioneering hand surgeon, J. Leonard Goldner, MD.

The Research Grant Committee bestows this award upon the highest ranking research grant application submitted during a given calendar year.  The recipient is selected through the already established mechanism of the grant review process; no special application is needed.  Research must be highly innovative and far-reaching in its appeal to the ASSH membership. The Goldner Pioneer Award is modeled after the highly competitive National Institutes of Health (NIH) Director’s Pioneer Award.

The Goldner Pioneer Award is announced at the ASSH Annual Meeting each year.  The principal investigator is given a special plaque to commemorate his/her achievement and additional funding to support their research.

Past Goldner Award Recipients

2013 - Roger Cornwall, MD - Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
"Afferent denervation and contractures following neonatal brachial plexus injury"
2012 - Yasuhiro Ozasa, MD - Mayo Clinic
"A Comparative Study of the Effects of GDF-5 on MDSCs and BMSCs in Tendon"
2011 - Erika Sears, MD and Lee Squitieri, MS - University of Michigan
"Measuring Quality of Life in Neonatal Brachial Plexus Palsy: A Qualitative and Quantitative Study"

2010 - Zhongyu J. Li, MD PhD - Wake Forest University
"The Role of Aging in Macrophage Recruitment and Activation Following Nerve Injury"