Print Friendly Print Email this page Email | 

 ASSH Practice Management Webinar Series: Registration Open for Workers' Compensation

​How can we effectively treat workers’ compensation patients?  This year’s Fall webinar, part of ASSH’s ongoing practice management webinar series, will cover this important question.  Led by Mark Melhorn, MD and Jay Pomerance, MD, the Understanding Causation and Return to Work Issues in Workers' Compensation webinar will help you make the best decisions when dealing with such cases.


Workers’ compensation (WC) is an area in which hand surgeons do not receive any formal training, yet nearly all hand surgeons will treat a WC patient.  Understanding the primary issues in these cases is essential, in addition to learning how to effectively communicate with the numerous stakeholders involved including the employer, employee, insurance agent, and attorney.  Drs. Melhorn and Pomerance will focus on how to determine causation for these workplace injuries and how to develop return-to-work approaches.


Mark Melhorn and Jay Pomerance are both long-time experts of workers’ compensation.  Dr. Melhorn is a researcher and lecturer of workplace injuries, workplace illnesses, return to work options, and more.  Jay  Pomerance has 20 years of WC experience, is a former member of the AAOS Workers’ Compensation Committee, and recently authored an ASSH e-book titled “Workers' Compensation: A Primer for Hand Surgeons.”  This new publication includes 15 chapters that cover the impact of WC, testing and evaluating your patient, legal aspects of WC, conflicts of interest affecting recovery, outcomes in WC, and much more, some of which will be incorporated into the November webinar content.


Register now to hear from the experts and address your concerns regarding workers’ compensation.


Webinar Details

Date: Wednesday, November 20

Time: 5PM Pacific; 6PM Mountain; 7PM Central; 8PM Eastern
 
Cost: $75 (includes live webinar and recording)