Print Friendly Print Email this page Email | 

 AMA 2011 Annual Meeting Report

2011 AMA Annual Meeting
June 18-21, 2011
Executive Summary
The highlights of the meeting:
  • AMA reaffirmed its support of the individual mandate

  • AMA referred for study a major concern about a proliferation in maintenance of certification, maintenance of licensure, and general CME rules and policies, with a goal of consolidating these activities wherever possible.

  • Specialty society membership in the AMA House of Delegates continues to grow, while state representation continues to fall. Getting timely and accurate member numbers from AMA to states and specialties remains a concern of the HOD, which once again reaffirmed its goal of looking forward, not backward, by rejecting an appeal to freeze the size of the HOD

  • AAHS Delegate Peter Amadio was elected Chair of the Specialty and Service Societies (SSS, aka “triple S”), and was appointed vice chair of the Group Practice Advisory Committee by the AMA Board. Hand caucus member Andrew Gurman was elected unanimously as the new Speaker of the HOD (a common path to AMA Presidency), while caucus member John Evans chaired the House Rules and Credentials Committee and caucus member Robert Havlik chaired Reference Committee C.
As can be seen from the above, the AMA continues to serve the medical profession in general and hand surgeons in particular. Indeed, hand surgeons currently play a major leadership role within AMA. The ability of the AMA to work for physicians, and to represent physicians effectively, is determined in a large part by the percentage of American physicians who belong to the AMA. Your AMA representatives encourage all physicians to belong to the AMA, and to participate in the debate to define and enable the initiatives and activities outlined above. Remember, all American physicians benefit from the activities of the AMA, whether they are members or not. It is not fair for the burden of all this activity to be borne by the few, for the benefit of the many. Your AMA representatives encourage all physicians to do their fair share and support the AMA as members. We look forward to continuing to serve you in the AMA House of Delegates in the coming year.
Respectfully submitted,
Peter C. Amadio, MD and Nicholas Vedder, MD; AAHS delegate and alternate
David M. Lichtman, MD and Stewart Haskin, MD; ASSH delegate and alternate
Desirae McKee, MD, ASSH Young Physician Representative