February 2016 Industry Update: Foundation Research Grants and New Product Showcase

Key info and top opportunities from ASSH, brought to Industry each month

Foundation Research Grant Opportunities

$100K Two-Year Clinical Grant
Beginning in 2016, the American Foundation for Surgery of the Hand (AFSH) will offer a $100,000 two-year clinical grant program with a rotating topic of interest, every two years.  By rotating the topic, we hope to reach new investigators while emphasizing specific areas of interest in the field of hand and upper extremity.  The first grant cycle will focus on the topic of Nerve.  The AFSH seeks multi-center studies using human subjects to validate nerve related studies in the hand and upper limb.  Studies using population data sets will also be considered.

The total amount of the award is $100,000.  $50,000 will be awarded at the start of the grant and the final $50,000 is disbursed after the progress report has been reviewed and approved by the selection committee.  Does your product fall within the “Nerve” topic?  Encourage your surgeon champions to apply by June 1, 2016 to be considered for this new research award!    

Donor Restricted “Special Emphasis” Grant ($20,000+ Corporate Grant)
Sponsor a specific area of investigation, in concert with the ASSH Research Director and subject to promote clinical research in your area of choice (and subject to approval by the ASSH and AFSH).  The  AFSH uses the same approach as the NIH in publicizing a Special Emphasis Note (SEN) grant.

Interested in sponsoring a clinical research grant? Contact the AFSH at to learn more.

New Product Showcase 
The New Product Showcase (NPS) is a complimentary program for exhibiting companies who are promoting a new product or service at the 71st Annual Meeting of the American Society for Surgery of the Hand (ASSH).  All companies featured in the NPS will receive the following benefits:
  • Feature in a section of the Annual Meeting Website which goes live in April 2016
  • Highlight in at least one email blast to prospective and pre-registered Annual Meeting attendees
  • Highlight in the Annual Meeting Mobile App
  • Recognition signage to help guide attendees to your booth 
The product or service highlighted in the NPS must have been introduced between September 2015 and September 2016.  Product updates allowed!  Maximum of three new products listed per company.  New company launches are eligible for this program and encouraged to participate.  The NPS is available to registered 2016 ASSH Annual Meeting exhibitors only.  


Applications for the NPS must include a brief description of the product/service for marketing purposes.  Download the full application for details.  Contact the ASSH at for additional information.  Applications will be accepted through Friday, September 9, 2016.

Mark your calendars for the 71st ASSH Annual Meeting in Austin!

Join ASSH on September 29 - October 1, 2016 at the Austin Convention Center.  Over 2,500 healthcare professionals are estimated to attend.  As you plan your 2016 budgets and marketing presence, factor in these highly visible opportunities.

Industry Forum Sessions
Limited number of session slots available that do not conflict with CME activities.  Session content and invited faculty are due March 31, 2016 in time for Registration launch in mid-April 2016.  Reserve your spot until space is sold out.  Submit your program content before the Annual Meeting Website and Registration goes live in April 2016!

Annual Meeting Booth Application
Bonus priority points awarded to early applicants, which can help to secure a more prominent booth location.  Deadline to apply before initial round of booth assignments: March 14, 2016.

Additional Exposure Opportunities

  • Meeting Mobile App: $70,000 exclusive OR $35,000 each for joint sponsorship
  • Device Charging Station: $7,500 each
  • Custom Signage: starts at $750 (price varies by type and size)
  • Custom Banner or Decal: $65 per sq. ft.

For additional information or to confirm your support, please contact Kris R. Delas Armas via email at

© 2016 American Society for Surgery of the Hand