Susan E. Mackinnon, MD, FACS, FRCSC Receives Jacobson Innovation Award

Member Accomplishments

Congratulations to ASSH Member Susan E. Mackinnon, MD, FACS, FRCSC, who was named the recipient of the Jacobson Innovation Award by the American College of Surgeons last week.  Dr. Mackinnon was honored with this international surgical award in recognition of her leadership in the innovative use of nerve transfer procedures for treatment of patients with devastating peripheral nerve injuries.  The prestigious Jacobson Innovation Award honors living surgeons who have been innovators of a new development or technique in any field of surgery and is made possible through a gift from Julius H. Jacobson II, MD, FACS, and his wife, Joan.  Dr. Jacobson is a general vascular surgeon known for his pioneering work in the development of microsurgery.