2012 Young Leaders Program

Volunteer Note

W. P. Andrew Lee, MD
The Young Leaders Program is aimed at identifying and grooming future leaders for the Hand Society with an eye toward continuing its tradition of excellence and knowledge-based governance.

The program was developed during the presidency of Dennis Phelps, MD and went into effect in 2004.  Since then, it has graduated more than 100 ASSH members who have gone on to become members of Council or chairs of committees and task forces.  The Current ASSH Treasurer, James Chang, MD, and Council Member at Large A. Bobby Chhabra, MD, are both graduates of the Young Leaders program.  In all, Young Leaders alumni have held over 400 ASSH committee positions.

To be considered for participation, one must be an ASSH Active Member of less than eight years or a Candidate Member (dues paying and post-fellowship).  Members selected for the 2012 program will participate in an active, ongoing discussion to identify and research key issues in the profession.

The Young Leaders will attend a training session on medical society governance by industry leader Cate Bower, FASAE, CAE, IOM, in December in Chicago.  They will also participate in the Council meeting the next day, giving a presentation and making recommendations to Council based on their examination of key issues in the profession.

The Program/Selection Committee is chaired by the Immediate Past ASSH President.  Also on the committee are a Council Member at Large and the Chair of the Diversity Committee.
Much of the corporate support for this year’s program has come from Auxilium.  Additional support has come from Small Bones Innovation (SBi) and Medartis.

If you are committed to the Hand Society’s mission of advancing upper extremity care and interested in shaping its future, submit an application by August 1.